Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post Reply
DragonFly
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:18 pm

Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post by DragonFly »

I am building my first CNC machine and have just purchased the ET6 control board and software for tangential knife cutting. Where I am struggling is that I cannot figure out how to set the stepper drivers and make things communicate with the software in the motor/axis tab where the pps and the speed can be set. I have tried hundreds (feels like) of combinations and cannot seem to make things speak together. I am using NEMA 23 motors with a 2.8 peak amp rating and max pps of 5000. The stepper drivers are the Stepperoline brand, DM542T, and the software mentioned above. Right now, this is the combination that is even working; I have the driver set to 25000 and have set the PPS in the software to 12000 and the max speed to 50 and the motor turns, but when I connect the drive belt, it acts like its stuck, makes noise but no movement. I'm at a loss. Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

mycnc
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:42 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post by mycnc »

DragonFly wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 7:38 pm
PPS in the software to 12000
12000 looks too high for stepper motor, try to set 300 for a test.

What pulse width set?
image.png
I assume you need Imperial units.
Have you switched dimension to inches in G-code settings and Screen setting dialogs?

DragonFly
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:18 pm

Re: Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post by DragonFly »

Thank you for the help with the motors, that really helped.

I've been working on the machine on and off for the last several months and have the software and the machine communicating. I am now struggling with the z axis. When I go into the Macro Wizard and set the homing gap and generate the new macro, the new macro will work for the homing procedure until I run a cut, then it seems that the software forgets the settings and does its own thing. I go back and check the macro and it is where it was supposed to be, but until I close the myCNC program, it will not accept changes and will not use the macro that entered.

Any thoughts at what I am doing wrong? I have the Industrial computer from myCNC and the ET6 if that helps.

mycnc
Posts: 1049
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:42 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post by mycnc »

you need to press all 3 buttons on the macro wizard dialog -
- Generate Macro - to generate and print the macro in Macro Preview
- Save Macro - to save the macro on the disk and reload new macro in the system
- Save Cfg (top right button) - to save all the changes in the window to the disk

A new Gap value is printed directly in the macro. You can see it in the screenshot below
image.png
You can check the changes in Macro List widget
image.png

DragonFly
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:18 pm

Re: Software, driver, and motors communication issues

Post by DragonFly »

Thank you, I think that I was out of order for my button pushing, I'll give it a try in the correct order.

Post Reply