Change screen and save configuration

Post Reply
Robert
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Change screen and save configuration

Post by Robert » Fri May 03, 2019 2:43 pm

Hi everyone.
I like a screen and I want to know how to use this screen with plc parameters, macros, axis configuration, jog, step and direction signals, motion parameters. I am using the default screen 1280M5 but I do not like the screen and I did many configurations.
Maybe can you tell me how to do this manually without internet connection.

ivan
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by ivan » Fri May 03, 2019 4:03 pm

In order to copy your particular configuration to another screen, you can edit the cnc-variables.xml file in your particular profile folder (in your case, .config > myCNC > profiles > 1280M5). The file contains your axis configuration, motion parameters, etc.

In order to bring over your particular macros, you can again copy them to your new screen folder from .config > myCNC > profiles > 1280M5 > macros. A similar procedure is also used for your PLC parameters, by going to .config > myCNC > profiles > 1280M5 > plc and choosing those you want to copy or edit.

Keep in mind, however, that not all macros will work properly on every myCNC profile. What macros and PLC parameters have you changed exactly, and what screen are you planning on switching to?

Robert
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by Robert » Fri May 03, 2019 7:46 pm

You mean that I can copy de cnc-variables file from 1280M5 to directory of another screen and the configuration done will not lose just the screen and colors?
I have seen in the forum some peoples are using X1366M4 screen, I already have dowloaded this screen from the download page to use in linux enviroment, but before do that I want to know if my particular configuration will not lose.

I just want to change the colors and the screens.

mycnc
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 2:42 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by mycnc » Fri May 03, 2019 8:37 pm

Machine configuration contains
1) all the settings (cnc-variables.xml)
2) macros (macro folders)
3) PLC procedures
4) screen configuration (XML configuratuion files).

If you didn't change any macro or PLC, then you can copy your cnc-variables.xml to a new profile folder and get your machine mostly configured.
If you did change macro or PLC, then the migration process will be more complicated.

Robert
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by Robert » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:39 pm

We have tried use the new profile X1366M4 (release date: 2019-05-22) downloaded from Downloads section, we did the old profile folder backup. With the old perfil G91 command does not respond, and using G01 with Z axis does not work neither and we hope this time with the new perfil solve it. We copyed from the old perfil only the cnc-variables file to recovery some configurations but the G01 and G91commands does not work yet.
We want not to make a mistake, so attached Info dialog of software.
Note: We check with the new perfil some checkboxes are hidden.
Attachments
Info1.png
no checkbox.png

ivan
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by ivan » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:34 pm

Good morning. You are currently on the 1.88.2774 version of myCNC software, which was released some time this spring. The latest version is 1.88.3263. I'd suggest updating the software to the latest version by following the steps in this manual: www.cnc42.com/mycnc/update_mycnc

The 1366M4 profile has also been updated recently. You can update directly from the Support window of the myCNC software, by inputting * into the Controller UID field and selecting to not update the variables file to keep your old one. The profile update is described in the manual here: www.cnc42.com/mycnc/update_profile

Let me know if that fixes your issues.

Robert
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by Robert » Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:11 pm

We appreciate your help, the update is working now.
About the run and stop program buttons, we attached the example program, when the 14 line is running and we pause the program, the program is stopped certainly, but when we restart de program, we see that 14 and 15 lines running in the same time, why happen this?

Code: Select all

N0010 G54 G94 M5;
N0011 G90;
N0012 G28 Z0;
N0013 G28 X0 Y0;
N0014 G00 X0 Y0;
N0015 Z0;
N0016 F100 G01 Z-10;
N0017 X50;
N0018 Y50;
N0019 G00 Z50;
N0020 X0;
N0021 Y0;
N0022 G01 Z-100;
N0023 X-50;
N0024 Y-50;
N0025 G00 Z50;
N0026 X0;
N0027 Y0;
N0028 G01 Z-150;
N0029 X100;
N0030 Y100;
N0031 G00 Z50;
N0032 X0;
N0033 Y0;
N0034 M30;

ivan
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by ivan » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:03 pm

We tested the attached program file and have also noted the issue - as it currently stands, the rapid speed increase and movement is not the desired behaviour. We will continue to investigate this issue and hope to resolve it in the upcoming software release. I will update you as soon as the fix is out.

ivan
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:30 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by ivan » Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:32 pm

Good afternoon. We have located the cause of the issue you described and will be pushing out an update to myCNC with a fix within the next few hours.

The problem seems to have been present due to the G28 commands, which are performed in machine coordinates. As the program is stopped and then resumed again, the controller assumed that the Z coordinate was actually a program coordinate, and would attempt to compensate - this is why the issue would only arise when stopped at a line right after a G28 code. As a sidenote, G28 commands are typically not used in the middle of the program, so editing the code to get rid of them would be a band-aid solution.

Another odd behaviour we have noted was the unnecessarily high speed which the machine would move at right after starting up again at line 14. This was due to the fact that it was using the Move-to-Toolpath speed from the Start/Stop window. The behaviour has now been changed to use the regular G0 speed in this case.

Let me know if the update fixes your issues.

aldoo
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:23 pm

Re: Change screen and save configuration

Post by aldoo » Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:17 am

I will update the software and comment you.

Post Reply